So the Catholic Church is… let’s just use the word Catholic, because that’s enough to explain these three bishops and their response to VP Joe Biden marrying a gay couple at his home. They were White House staffers and apparently being married by the VP is a potential perk.

Unfortunately, there are some people who aren’t okay with someone else’s marriage and are required to be assholes as a perk of their own jobs.

In true COA fashion, let’s take a look at this blog post, piece by piece, and explain why it’s wrong at a level that a ten year old could understand.

“Questions revolving around marriage and human sexuality are deeply felt in our homes and communities.” Correct me if I’m wrong, but this is not a convincing start to a piece written by three unmarried virgins.

“The two strands of the dignity of the person and the dignity of marriage and the family are interwoven. To pull apart one is to unravel the whole fabric.” The Catholic Church talking about dignity is like Saudi Arabia leading a coalition on human rights. Oh, wait, that happened, too.

“When a prominent Catholic politician publicly and voluntarily officiates at a ceremony to solemnize the relationship of two people of the same-sex, confusion arises regarding Catholic teaching on marriage and the corresponding moral obligations of Catholics” SEPARATION. OF. CHURCH. AND. STATE. I didn’t even know Biden was a Catholic until this temper tantrum. I didn’t know because he’s a politician, not a preacher, and he understands that. Also, “moral obligations”. These guys aren’t any more qualified to speak on morality than they are at sex, because they don’t have experience with either.

They go on to mention that Pope Francis, “the good guy pope”, has been consistent with the church’s outdated teachings on marriage. This is unfortunately true, which is bittersweet for someone in my position, wanting to see the failure of the church and understanding that until then, they can do a lot of damage with their opinions.

“Let us pray for our Catholic leaders in public life, that they may fulfill the responsibilities entrusted to them with grace and courage and offer a faithful witness that will bring much needed light to the world.” Joe Biden is not a Catholic leader. He is a political leader who happens to be Catholic, and he also happens to disagree with the church on same-sex marriage because he’s an intelligent guy who, for the most part, lives in the real world.

 

 

COA UPDATES

Things on this site have been slow lately. My health has been on the downswing for a few months but I found a doctor and am looking at treatment options. The site should be picking up soon, but at the end of the day I’m just not going to reach a point where I can post here three times a week like I have in the past. I’m still looking at options to remedy this, one of which is my photography page.

I’m freelancing now over at The New Civil Rights Movement. If you want to follow my work over there, it’s appreciated. NCRM is a liberal news website with a much faster pace and more coverage than COA could handle. Maybe I’m biased, but take it as a recommendation.

Charlotte Pride is in two weeks. Come out if you’re in the area, I’ll be wandering around with several cameras and a notebook full of questions to ask random strangers about everything from safety to the color of their shoes. I’ve got a COA t-shirt and business cards now. I don’t have a phone but as much as I can be on Twitter during the weekend, I’ll be updating.

As always, I have a Patreon and a pile of student debt.

Lyn

