The Democratic primary is going to be interesting. Two of the candidates have extremely devoted bases and have made a very public impression of their campaigns. They’ve also gotten some very high profile endorsements from different groups, which is where the problems begin.

I’ll start out by saying this; I am a Bernie Sanders supporter. His policies are strong and he’s the better candidate by far.

This is why I’m frustrated. My fellow Bernie supporters, and borderline the candidate himself, have put less emphasis on the issues and more on the candidate following what they see as bad endorsements by Planned Parenthood and the Human Rights Campaign.

Here’s the thing; if we support Bernie Sanders in part because of his commitment to social issues like gay rights and women’s rights, then it’s irresponsible and flat out ridiculous to slam these groups for an endorsement of a candidate that we consider to be second best on the issues we care about.

Sanders supporters attack Hillary Clinton while Clinton supporters attack Bernie Sanders. The thing is, I might believe that Bernie Sanders will be a good president while Hillary Clinton will be a mediocre one, but that isn’t a good enough reason for me to start talking down PP and HRC.

Bernie Sanders has supported equal rights longer than Hillary Clinton, and I think he’ll (ironically) be a better president for the women of this country. Let’s remember that neither candidate has done nearly as much for us as the two organizations in question.

I won’t say that this decision is above criticism, but it’s important to remember that we’re criticizing the political endorsement of the *arguably wrong candidate and not the organizations themselves.

If you’re one of the people who thinks ending donations to these groups is going to make Sanders stronger, then you’re a part of the problem. We could have the best president imaginable in office, but if Planned Parenthood closes, then abortion access will be restricted. We could pick the toughest pro-equality leader and it won’t mean a damn thing for gay rights because if advocacy groups start to fail then public attention to issues will start to falter and we could lose major battles under the guise of ‘religious freedom’.

Believe me, I’ll cast a vote for Clinton with a bad taste in my mouth. She’s not my candidate of choice and I think we can step towards a much brighter future with Sanders (or O’Malley). Even if I have issues with her as a leader, she’s not the worst choice and to attack her as though she’s the worst thing to happen to this country since Bush Jr. is disingenuous at best and sleazy at worst.

Lyn

