I’ve been trying to find the words for Paris, but there’s nothing I can say that isn’t already in my article for Kent State’s University paper. I do, on the other hand, have something to say about the aftermath.

I was born in 1998. I’m what I call a “tower kid”, someone who has the 9/11 attacks as a formative memory. As a three year old, I wasn’t at all concerned with the political implications of it. Everyone was just sad.

If I’d been paying attention, I have no idea what I’d have seen. I just hope against hope that it wasn’t as bad as what I’ve seen this past week.

Special IDs? Shootings at mosques? Assaults? To all of this, my reaction just has to be anger.

Islamaphobia is a word overused, but there are times when it’s clear and real, and this past week, it’s been real. How can we be upset about a group of people who committed violence because of their religion based bigotry, and then respond with violent acts of our own because of their religion?

This attack was overseas. It was less than (as far as we know) 200 people. We have this vitriolic response after this incident. What could we have possibly done in 2001. Wait, I remember, we attacked the wrong country and killed huge amounts of people who had nothing to do with any of it.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ll never defend Islamic doctrine. If the Koran is anything like the Bible, then ISIS is right by Islamic law, but just like with Christianity, morality most often wins out over religion.

Most religious people don’t really follow their religion, and we should remember this before we condemn an entire group of people for the actions of division of it.

The terrorists haven’t done nearly as much damage to our American values as we’ve done to them ourselves. We can’t be a country trying to stand on inclusiveness and freedom if we turn against the “other” because we’re afraid.

Lyn

